Trailer Watch – Ant Man & Hits

I have to say of the two trailers I am far more excited for Hits than I am Ant-Man. I don’t know why but I just can’t seem to get excited for a Marvel superhero whose main ability is to shrink. There’s a reason Rick Moranis and the Honey I Shrunk The Kids film worked and it’s because it is impossible to take itself seriously. Now don’t get me wrong, I can suspend my disbelief for the sake of cinema but Marvel have done such a cracking job raising the bar & tone of the modern comic book movie that I just don’t think that sort of crap gimmick can work given the established heroes and potential crossover involved.

But hey?! I’ve been wrong before and I’ll be wrong again (at some point), I’m not writing the film off by any means, but when you hear how Edgar Wright was dumped because of the studio going over his head with script changes and actors signing on because of him and him alone, it makes you wonder what state the project can really be in. . Not to mention the guy they replaced him with (Peyton Reed) most notable work is Yes Man, Bring It On & The Break Up. My fingers remain firmly crossed.

Hits on the other hand is the directorial debut of comedy stalwart David Cross. If you don’t know David Cross check up some of his stand up or his most notable work on Arrested Development to see what he’s all about. The trailer shows a satirical take on the delusions of grandeur of a small town when a local’s rant at city hall goes viral. I like David Cross and he seems to have had no problem pulling in recognisable talent for his first outing. Looking at the trailer it looks funny, silly, a bit heart warming with some relevant home truths thrown in. Something that is just a bit different.

But don’t take my word for it, check out both trailers below;

Ant-Man

Hits

 

AJG

Leave a Reply

